Kill the Director

Soooo I decided to do a post about me because I have no idea what to write about.  So this one is about what genre of movies I like.  And if you know the song that I named the blog after, you’d already know what I mean.  ROM COMS!  I seriously have an addiction.  I’ve become proud of it now though.  And I embrace it.  I’m not afraid to admit it either….except maybe to people I’m just meeting….well this is awkward.  Because we’re probably just meeting…. I have to remember that explaining a joke makes it not funny…..

Sidenote: the song is Kill the Director by The Wombats (amazing band, look them up!)

Ok, so I guess I’ll talk about my addiction to Rom Coms and which ones I love the most.  Let’s gooooooooooo! (I stretch out letters a lot when I type.  So be forewarned that I do that a lot.)

Well I suppose I started loving Romantic Comedies a long time ago, but in the last few years I’ve watched almost all of the ones that look appealing to me on Netflix.  Oops.  Now all real men are probably ruined for me, because I want the ones from the movies.  Again, oops.  But I can’t help it, really.  It’s like a disease with the horrible (amazing) jokes and awful (adorable) romantic scenes swirling through my mind all the time.  When people ask me what I want to watch I usually respond “Comedy” but really, all I want is to watch a movie that makes me laugh until the last twenty minutes, where I cry, until I have my heart restored by the idea of true love (aka when they get back together after a fight).  So good!

So, I guess now I’ll talk about some favorites.  I think now my favorite favorite is “Love and Other Disasters” starring Brittany Murphy (RIP, I love her ❤ ).  It’s about a girl living in London (because I haven’t said it yet, I am obsessed with London and want to study abroad there and maybe live there?), so already off to a great start.  And she has two best friends, one gay and the other Donna from Doctor Who, who both make amazingly awkward and funny jokes.  Just watch the movie, worrrrrrrth it.  Anyway, she’s a fashion designer, and has a boyfriend she doesn’t love, as well as a new employe she finds rather attractive (after finding out he’s not actually gay, so she could date him, yay!).  I probably made it sound pretty dull but it does have great characters and witty writing in my opinion, and it wasn’t terribly inappropriate for being rated R. The only thing it’s missing is a pet cat.  Yep, then it would be a pretty ideal life, living in London, nice guy, she got to tango!  And great friends and a job she loves!  Just, again, needs the cat. 😀  Because I’m a crazy cat lady!  =^.^=

love-and-other-disasters-0

I also really liked an obscure movie I found on Netflix called “Happy Ever Afters”.  It was a hilarious movie starring Sally Hawkins.  It was about what ensues after two wedding receptions are held in the same hotel.  The weddings are not all as they seem, which you soon find out.  But this movie made me laugh out loud, because they would be in the middle of a conversation when someone would punch another person in the face.  I don’t know what happened half the time, but being a British comedy, I found it rather enjoyable.  I want to watch it again, but they took it off Netflix instant…sad day.

Fr.-Pat-Maura-carry-Freddie

Well, I’m not going to explain every movie I love in the Rom Com genre, but I will list them!  😀

On Netflix, that I’d recommend:

  • Friends With Kids
  • Take Me Home             Thom_and_Claire-Take-Me-Home_2
  • The Giant Mechanical Man27RDP_GIANT_SPAN-articleLarge-v2
  • The movies with Brittany Murphy (She’s not my favorite actress but I love her Rom Coms)
  • The Very Thought of You (Hot British Man…woooooooo)
  • A Holiday Engagement (Great Hallmark movie, also….I LOVE HALLMARK AT CHRISTMAS–another obsession)
  • Did I mention Love and Other Disasters?
  • I like The Rebound too even though it was a bit inappropriate…so sue me…

Others Iove/recommend:

  • The Holiday
  • The Devil Wears Prada tumblr_mxhlwnUKzh1t0d58ao1_500
  • Crazy Stupid Love
  • Both Princess Diaries
  • Ella Enchanted (so what…I love the Anne Hathaway movies from this time, they’re amazing)
  • And if Easy A is technically a Rom Com that would also be a favorite, and highly recommended.  I also love Stanley Tuccilarge<Best part of the movie
  • Life as We Know It
  • Sydney White
  • Down With Love       downwithlove
  • Letters From Juliet
  • Miss Congeniality ( I love Sandra Bullock)0dee94bc1b752d6334659ed176846a9a
  • Leap Year
  • You, Again
  • Kate and Leopold     kate_and_leopold_background_wallpaper-other
  • What’s Your Number?
  • Just Visiting                     just_l
  • Big Fat Greek Wedding
  • Moulin Rouge if that counts… It is definitely my favorite musical though!
  • I squealed a bunch with my friends over Mr. Darcy’s awkwardness in Pride and Prejudice too
  • Probably a ton more I’m not remembering but love….

So if you like any of these movies, or Rom Coms in general, comment!! Because I want to know!  Also, if you have any recommendations for movies I haven’t listed, I would love to continue my addiction and already have some friends have recommended to me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

